Stay In Touch With Us Coaching Videos

McCarthy & McMahon retain Senior Softball crowns

The reigning Senior champs Robbie McCarthy and Martina McMahon retained their titles in style in Roscommon on Saturday, while both Minor titles went west to Connacht.

McCarthy found himself in a tough encounter in the opening stages as first time finalist Gary McConnell fought back to hold a 10-9 lead in the opener. But from their the Mullingar superstar stole the show with his supreme control of the court to run out 21-10, 21-3 and seal a remarkable 9th Senior Softball title. That win sees him just one title short of second place in of the overall roll of honour; Eoin Kennedy with 10, and the outright holder Ducksy Walsh with 16. But given 34 year old McCarthy's class shown on the big court yet again on Saturday, it could be foolish to think more titles wont follow in the coming years.

In the Ladies Senior Final, Martina McMahon saw off Catriona Casey to join the Cork star as the all time record holder in this Championship with 5 titles, a title also shared with Limerick's Bernie Hennessy. With a 21-13 opening win in the bag, McMahon looked to be closing in for a solid second game win before Casey hit 5 consecutive points to trail just 19-18. The pressure was at boiling point but left hander McMahon responded to take the title 21-18 in an energy sapping encounter.

Carragh Kennedy become the 7th Roscommon native to win the Ladies Minor Softball title on her home court when she defeated Clare's Leah Minogue 21-20, 21-13 in a great tussle. Sligo's Cormac Finn then added the Softball Minor title to his 4-Wall Minor title won back in March, as he defeated Kilkenny's Kyle Jordan 21-19, 9-21, 11-4, erupting with emotion upon sealing the final point.

GAA Handball would like to thank St Coman's HC for their hospitality in hosting these finals.


All-Ireland Senior & Minor Softball Finals - Saturday 3rd Sept 2022

At St Coman's HC, Roscommon

  • Girls Minor: Carragh Kennedy (Ros) dft Leah Minogue (Clare) 21-20, 21-13
  • Boys Minor: Cormac Finn (Sligo) dft Kyle Jordan (KK) 21-19, 9-21, 11-4
  • Mens: Robbie McCarthy (Westmeath) dft Gary McConnell (Meath) 21-10, 21-3
  • Ladies: Martina McMahon dft Catriona Casey (Cork) 21-13, 21-18