Stay In Touch With Us Coaching Videos

O’Conghaile & Mulkerrins claim Curraghboy Doubles Title

There was an all Galway showdown in the final of the Annual 2019 Curraghboy Doubles Tournament last weekend, when Diarmuid Mulkerrins & Cian Ó Conghaile (Moycullen & Micheal Breathnachs handball clubs) defeated Seamus Conneely & Conor Noone (Moycullen) on the narrowest of wins 31-30.

In all there were 11 participating teams from 6 counties:

  1. Seamus Conneely & Conor Noone (Galway)
  2. Diarmuid Mulkerrins & Cian Ó Conghaile (Galway)
  3. Conor O'Brien & Kevin Cooke (Offaly)
  4. Niall Joyce & Paddy Murphy (Mayo)
  5. Vinnie Moran & Francie McCann (Mayo & Sligo)
  6. Pat Conway & Kieran Hanley (Galway)
  7. Ollie Conway & Pat Nolan (Galway & Clare)
  8. Oisin Naughton & Paul Kelly (Roscommon)
  9. Ian McLoughlin & Ciaran Burke (Mayo)
  10. Kevin Craddock & Declan Connaughton (Galway)
  11. Denis Creaton & Sean Jennings (Roscommon)
In the Cup SF's, Ian McLoughlin & Ciaran Burke lost out to Mulkerrins/O'Conghaile 31-26, with Denis Creaton & Sean Jennings losing out to Seamus Conneely & Conor Noone 31-23.
The Cup final was tightly contested, Diarmuid and Cian took a good lead 7-1 up, but were brought back to 11 all. The older duo of Conneely & Noone then went to 23-19 up, and eventually got serving twice for the match at 30-23. But from the death, Diarmuid and Cian clawed it back and got a hold towards the end with good serving and finally took game 31-30.
The Plate final saw of Niall Joyce & Patrick Murphy eventually beating Conor O'Brien and Kevin Cooke 25-18.