Stay In Touch With Us Coaching Videos

40x20 Championship - Weekend Preview

Another major weekend in the 2017 O’Neill’s 40x20 Championship lies ahead with the Men’s Last 16 & Ladies QF’s down for decision tomorrow Saturday 18th Feb.

Armagh’s Charly Shanks will start as favourite to take another step towards his 5th Final appearance when he takes on last years Intermediate finalist Paul Moran (Kildare) in Kingscourt. Playing into the winner will be the victor of an interesting tussle in Salthill as experienced Mayo man Joe McCann faces talented Clare youngster Colin Crehan.

A competitive double header in Leixlip sees the second quarter of the draw do battle with Brian Carroll (Meath) looking to use his big game experience to defeat Patrick Funchion (Kilkenny), whilst Belfast’s Owen McKenna faces Cork’s Brendan Fleming.

#3 seed Martin Mulkerrins (Galway) will have to see off Roscommon’s Rikki O’Gara to set up a QF v either Diarmuid Nash (Clare) or Tadgh Carroll (Cork), with Nash delivering an eye catching performance last weekend against Dominic Lynch.

The tie of the round is set for Ballymore Eustace as Eoin Kennedy (Dublin) faces Michael Gregan (Wicklow), with bnoth experienced men looking to set up an unenviable QF with reigning champ Robbie McCarthy (Westmeath), who receives a walk over from Kilkenny’s Peter Funchion.

In the Ladies QF, the top seeds enter the fray as Catriona Casey (Cork) takes on Lorraine Havern (Down) in Cullohill, and in the same side of the draw Roscommon’s young star Fiona Tully drawn against Kilkenny’s #4 seed Ciara Mahon.

Martina McMahon (Limerick) faces Ashley Prendiville (Kerry) in an all Munster affair in Ballydesmond, with the winner progressing to face either Ciana Ni Churraoin (Galway) or Pauline Gallagher (Mayo).

Follow GAA Handball on Facebook for updates as they come in, with full round up of results listed on on Saturday evening.

Senior Fixtures - Sat 18th Feb

Aughagower, Mayo @ 2pm OIC Liam Masterson 087 2376628

  • LSS QF3: Galway (Ciana Ni Churraoin) v Mayo (Pauline Gallagher)
  • MSS Q21: Galway (Martin Mulkerrins) v Roscommon (Rikki O’Gara)

Ballymore Eustace, Kildare @ 2pm OIC Gavin Grace 087 4153720

  • MSS Q23: Wicklow (Michael Gregan) v Dublin (Eoin Kennedy)

Nenagh, Tipperary @ 11am OIC Eamonn Spillane 087 4185911

  • MSS Q22: Clare (Diarmuid Nash) v Cork (Tadgh Carroll)

Kingscourt, Cavan @ 2pm OIC Michael Finnegan 087 9614884

  • MSS Q17: Armagh (Charly Shanks) v Kildare (Paul Moran)

Leixlip, Kildare @ 5pm OIC Andrew Diggins 087 6181247

  • MSS Q19: Meath (Brian Carroll) v Kilkenny (Patrick Funchion)
  • MSS Q20: Cork (Brendan Fleming) v Antrim (Owen McKenna)

Salthill, Galway @ 3pm OIC Pierce Lalor 087 9699892

  • MSS Q18: Clare (Colin Crehan) v Mayo (Joe McCann)

Cullohill, Laois @ 3pm OIC Eamon Doheny 087 6763200

  • LSS QF1: Cork (Catriona Casey) v Down (Lorraine Havern)

St. Brigids, Curraghboy, Roscommon @ 12noon OIC Seamus McHugh 087 6307759

  • LSS QF2: Roscommon (Fiona Tully) v Kilkenny (Ciara Mahon)

Ballydesmond, Cork @ 2pm OIC Michael Linehan 087 6287538

  • LSS QF4: Kerry (Ashley Prendiville) v Limerick (Martina McMahon)